in , ,

Islanders’ Lou Lamoriello wins Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award

Lou Lamoriello, who assembled a New York Islanders roster that has made a run to the Stanley Cup Semifinals, has won the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award for the second year in a row, the NHL announced Tuesday.

The 78-year-old Hockey Hall of Famer beat out fellow finalists Marc Bergevin of the Montreal Canadiens and Bill Zito of the Florida Panthers for the honour.

“(It’s) very humbling and yet difficult at the same time, because this is an award which embraces whatever success the organization has had throughout the year,” said Lamoriello, who was also named the league’s top GM in 2020.

“It is certainly an honour to be associated with Jim Gregory’s name,” he continued.

The three-time Stanley Cup champion has led the Islanders to the third round for a second-straight season in just his third campaign as president and GM.

Among his impactful moves this year were a pair of deals with his former club, the New Jersey Devils, ahead of April’s trade deadline, as he added Kyle Palmieri and Travis Zajac.

During his three seasons in Long Island, the club has a combined regular season record of 115-67-24 and has qualified for the Stanley Cup Playoffs in each campaign.

Lamoriello won his three titles (1995, 2000 and 2003) during his more than 18-year run in New Jersey, during which the Devils made the playoffs 21 times, posted 13 100-point seasons, won nine division titles and went to the Cup Final five times. He also served as GM of the Toronto Maple Leafs for three seasons from 2015-2018, reaching the playoffs in the latter two campaigns.

Voting for the award was conducted among league GMs and a panel of league executives and media following the second round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Sportsnet

Vegas Golden Knights expansion-draft players: Where are they now?

Golden Knights need to find answers quick as Canadiens continue to frustrate